Better than quietness

Hey.
As I've mentioned in a few posts now, I'm working on finishing my new demo "The Summer of Fallen Miss Takes". I just finished one of the poppiest tunes I've ever created to this day... I'm also working on a surprise for you all. We'll just have to wait and see when it'll be done. I'm not even sure that it will work out. It's a complicated thing at the moment and some of you might not even like it ;o)
I'm also planning two cooperations. To little has happened yet to mention them more but they're there.
Otherwise?
You could hop over to the label Smalltown America's homepage and read an
interview with my friend Rocky O'Reilly from the best band ever - Oppenheimer. He's a great friend and fan of mine and has so kindly mentioned me in this interview. I bet some of you think - no biggie - but it warms my heart :O)
Ok - that's all for now and it's not much but it's something.
Better than quietness...

**************************

Older news:
  • New gig as opening act to Juliana Hatfield at KB in Malmö, Sweden on November 9th. Scroll down to find more info about it.
  • Downloads still available here.




 

Going Blank Again

Except from it being one of the greatest CD:s released in the history of music thus far it's also the expression of me at this point in my life... I'm totally losing my self-image. That's how powerful alienation can be. I'll explain myself a little better.

A lot of great things have been happening to me recently. All of it's got to do with my music and getting the attention from different places. Getting the attention from different places that you didn't expect to get attention from is a self-esteem boost. Gradually you find yourself leaving the "close-to-bitter-and-for-yourself-and-others-invisible" person behind. Blossoming. Happy.

This is great to feel but it's also addictive. The need for confirmation. This need is particularly strong if you don't have the backup and support from the people close to you. And these days I have about three or four…

Basically it's weird being around a big bunch of people, people you thought where a part of your alliance and no one asks, congratulates or even mentions the fact that your second gig ever will be opening for Juliana Hatfield AND getting paid for it (sorry long sentence). The thing that is really hard for me to understand is HOW people can do so?!? I've always tried to be encouraging to the ones I consider friends and a main thing there is to be supportive and glad for them when something good happens to them. Basically - I'm always interested in my so-called friends or acquaintances whereabouts and find it common sense to be interested in their work or life in general.

All in all. This is when you realize that you can have whatever BIG news happening around you but if the people in your everyday life totally ignore you or don't care or whatever it is that makes them alienate you from socialization and encouragement - then you loose your self-image. You go blank. Again.

We are - whatever anyone "strong" and "secure" would contradict - the product of the world around us. The world around us is constantly changing and beings change with it. I guess I'll have to wipe out all that is my self to not be affected but then we wouldn't have my music, right?

Maybe me going blank again will fuel yet another great gathering of songs. For the time being I'll tape a portrait of myself to the mirror until the day comes that I can see myself with true and flawless eyes. Right now they are just like Ride's CD cover - two cucumbers…

David, Oppenheimer, Futia and Mango - HEART.

Love to friends,
Sara
 
Going Blank Again

New Gig! And other stuff...

Hey you all!
I've got a cold but I'm totally manic, recording what will become a pop anthem ;O)
Working title "But Are You Sleeping"...

Anyway. I'm writing to let you all know that I'll be opening for
Juliana Hatfield at KB on the 9th of November.
The cover charge is 100 SEK. Doors open at 8.00 PM Show starts at 9.00 PM. That is 20.00 and 21.00 for you Europeans ;o)

I will also be travelling with David & the Citizens to do some backing vox on some of their Swedish and European dates. If your are at any of the shows you'll be able to buy my bestseller demo - Wolflike They Are -

Good music and the nicest people are:
- OPPENHEIMER (thanx for existing, Rocky)!
- Futia Expo '79 (thanx for beautiful songs and a good cooperation)!

Check them out!

Hugs,
Sara

Recording - Listening...
Photo: Felicia Culler

The Studio Session

Hey!
So I got home Thursday the 31st and have been trying to go back to ordinary rhythm (staying up LATE, not sleeping until noon and eating properly…).
The studio sessions went slow but were really surprising! The wonderful
Magnus Josefsson AKA Mango is one hell of a guy and it's been great getting to know him! He has a great ear and a good understanding when I want to try stuff out. He also has good taste in instruments, microphones and amplifiers. Niklas is the guy owning the studio. He has this awesome taste in keyboards, synthesizers and organs. Great musical ear as well and I would love to let him have a go on my songs if he wishes to!
The surprising thing was "Lies of Justice House" (download original version here). We decided to do a remake of it 'cause I haven't been to satisfied with it mainly because I felt that it had a sketchy feel and the drums were annoying… Now it is a MONSTER. Deep and dark synthesizers and bubbly keys mix together with a new drum pattern I created… It could actually turn out to be danceable one day! David thought it sounded Peter Gabriel/Kate Bush and I got scared. I thought it sounded like the Knife and got REALLY scared. Not that I don't like the Knife or Peter Gabriel/Kate Bush but I don't want people to think I'm a The Knife or Peter Gabriel/Kate Bush wannabe ;o) I actually don't own a single recording by them. Well one Peter Gabriel and two Kate Bush but no the Knife... I downloaded the Knifes remix of Stina Nordenstam's "Parliament Square" and that was quite cool. Actually I get nervous when compared sometimes in a good way and sometimes not (not that often though).
We had a go on "At Least Like Melissa" as well but it's much to fresh to have a vibe to yet…
There is also this one song who none of you have heard before - "Where Shooting Stars Go". It's an old song - from about 2002 and I really feel it deserves to be heard so we'll be working A LOT on it next time!
Now that I'm home again I think I might start to finish my new demo. The working title and I think the title to be is "The Summer of Fallen Miss Takes". We'll just have to wait and see how it turns out and when it turns out ;o) I already have artwork for it!!!
I may have pictures from the Forfey Festival soon. I'll definitely post them as soon as I get them. Hopefully there will be pictures of some other bands I liked. There were in fact a whole bunch of GREAT bands! More about that later.
Now I'm going out to the kitchen to make myself a big cup of tea.
Hope you all are fine!
Hugs,
Sara

PS - Did I say I just LOVE the band Oppenheimer - THE GREATEST GUYS IN THE WORLD (you know you are too, David ;o)!