What's going on? And other stuff...

It's summer and I get psyched and cozy every day that the temperature lands somewhere around 30 degrees Celsius (about 86 degrees Fahrenheit). I get sentimental (in a good way) and dream of going back to Dallas.

Home is where the heart lies

But there are a couple of questions left unanswered... Like important e-mails for instance. Aren't they getting the e-mail? Are they on summer vacation? If you read this and feel pin pointed - contact me if you feel that you should be getting e-mail.

I wrote another song a couple of days ago and recorded it. The name?

"Close to Heart"

Actually. I might be finishing off what may become my forth demo. I have the songs, the cover work and the title. Another question though. Could it be too close to "wolflike they are" - the best demo I've made thus far? Oh - The title of the new one?

"The summer of fallen Miss Takes"

The songs are, sound wise, pretty summer sounding. Soft tunes - doubled vocals - a bit poppier - melodica - acoustic guitar - new drum loops and programming - fallen angels - razors - hatchets - big sleep - leaving - cherubs - misunderstood understandings - sampled horns blowing deranged and backwards - older goes distorted with feedback - repeated chorus.

Actually - At summertime I would rather keep to not analyzing. My head is mostly comfortable with staring into the sun and letting the steady stream of consciousness take a hold of the brain activity. If it gets too vivid - I go for a swim in the ocean.

Next week there will be some pretty exciting stuff coming up. Inspiration at the
Accelerator Festival with Hot Chip, Death Cab for Cutie and oops! flashback! - Silver Jews amongst others. David and I will go to the Danish island of Samsö for a three-day vacation. We will also start planning the recording of David's second solo album (speaking of poppier!!!). The Biggest and greatest news of the week though is for the 8th of July but as I said - next week. I'll post it next week. So make sure you check back! I may even do a mail out!
Next week!!!

Ta Ta,
Sara


A Strange World...

The internet is a strange world.
A world on it's own - living it's own life - CREATING it's own life.
A year ago or two - I was browsing around the internet for radio stuff and interviews with Lisa Germano. I found
WNYC's Spinning on Air with the host and the owner of one of the greatest radio voices of all time David Garland. I also found a GREAT two hour interview and a scanning of her, at that time, new album - Lullaby for Liquid Pig. Super!
Last night - unwilling to face the pillow and restless sleep - I found that this show had played April & May, David's song from his solo album Amaterasu. We were both VERY intrigued, or let me rephrase that - PSYCHED!!!
The internet is therefore not only a strange world but also a small world - So small that you rarely need a map to navigate…

Sara's strange world

This restless, sleepless night I also found a blog with some VERY interesting writing. I enjoyed it although I didn't really and fully understand if it was prose or autobiographical. The thing that touched me the most was the effort and soul the person had poured into involving my song "At Least Like Melissa" in the text. It was the perfect example of how a listener can set ones lyrics into his or her own life or context. At the end there was a little review of my song:

"This song took me by surprise. The instrumentation sparing and quiet, allowing way for the voice to float in with venom disguised as a platitude; a whisper in your lover's ear. Escape and freedom resonate from the ending chapter of the song where words are ditched in favour of ad-libbed vocals cascading along tributaries. It's the voice of a fallen Angel; still angelic and beautiful, but further from Heaven than any of us could ever know. And at the end of the song, as a deep breath is taken and then coughed back out, you accept your sadness. Because it's your sadness; no one elses. You embrace it with open arms; you look at yourself in the mirror and see it staring back at you - your one, true, reliable friend".

Read the whole text at the blog - Say Anything Syndrome.
Thank You to the one who wrote it.

XO
/Sara


More New Stuff...

Three new songs are added to my recording list:
- Leave a Blank Sheet
- Untitled
- A cover - therefore a secret...

Just so you all know...

"wolflike they are" is a great demo and I'm glad that even I find pleasure in listening to it... I'm always my biggest critic... I'm also very happy that so many of you have bought it and that you like it as well :-)

Summer is here and I got to get outside before it's too late.
 
By the way. I friend requested (on
MySpace) one of my all time favorite artists yesterday. It was a fan site but I thought what the heck... I've been listening to this person since 1994-95 something and I still get blown away by her presence. Like a spear through my heart but in a good way and if I where younger I would have said that we where soul mates or best friends in a parallel universe... Listen and - just listen... Lisa Germano. Oh, and she's releasing a new CD soon (Yeeaahh!) in July. Sounds great from what I've heard.

Take care y'all.
/Sara

Sara The Fly