Taking it to the streets

This picture is taken from my favorite Austin blog: austindailyphoto.blogspot.com

image96

I remember one beautiful Texas evening. We were driving around - Heading for the warm, friendly and bubbly South Congress. This was SXSW 2007 and can probably be categorized as one of THE MOST IMPORTANT TRIPS in my life. I met people that have been a strange for more than a decade. People that should have been closer 'cause they are part of me - They are my flesh and blood - My dear relatives.
Austin is a city that brews culture events and music is a HUGE part of that. You can catch high class acts all year around and great local bands at almost any diner, restaurant or bar. During SXSW Austin reaches to the extreme. Pull over for gas and you'll catch your favorite indie act playing at the gas station. Go buy flip-flop sandals 'cause your feet are warm when the first signs of Texas summer heat is starting to show and there outside Target - A band! Go have the best NY style pizza outside NY in Austin - At Home Slice Pizza and then find yourself playing there a couple of days later. 'Cause they like music in Austin - 'Cause dining out is not a dress-up-and-make-it-an-event type of thing. No. 'Cause like in all countries that are warm - We enjoy other people's company whilst doing one of the best things in life - Sharing each others company and eating.
Anywhooooo. We were sitting in my aunt's car cruising around with the windows down taking in local color. We were just about to turn onto South Congress when I heard a familiar voice singing outside - Now - This was great 'cause we were in an intersection with a lot of lights and luckily (for once) they were all red. Great music - But I was sooo struck by this non expected happening that my mind went blank - Who was this familiar voice??? As we came around the corner we saw a sign - Tonight at ??.00 Hours - ROKY ERICKSON

This is not a picture of Roky but it is the street South Congress and it's such a typical surreal sight - Did you read that - Typical surreal! He (a Russian guy touring the states!!!) just parks his van at the side of the street, makes himself a stage and plays! That's what I call taking it to the streets!

XO,
Sara

image95

New gigs

Hey.

Things are slowly progressing... I've worked too much to be able to write you all a well-deserved, INTERESTING, blog... Will do that soon or at least I will try...

Anyhow - I just added some gigs on my
MySpace.

One is in my hometown July 20th @ Mollevangsfestivalen - TBA time and stage - Lovely Malmo!

The others can be summed up as my first real tour! They are all still TBC/TBA at the moment but mainly it all comes down to if I can get tour support - I'll edit them ASAP. It's the tour that counts :O) The story? My dad got tired of the States and moved to China to teach English at one of the oldest universities there - Yada, yada, yada - There was media and venue interest - Yada, yada, yada - I'm going to tour China!!!

XO,
Sara

Today's Examination

Today's Examination

Today at 11.30 but with electrodes on my face and head - They were looking for something by measuring the micro hertz my brain sends out when I hear a sound!

Science...

Hope all is well,
Sara


Bad News

I won't get into details but I'm not feeling well so unfortunately I won't be able to write here that often - At least for a while...

Bye for now,
Sara

I would really like to play for you

The days go into weeks, weeks into months and months into years. I've gotten a lot of sweet email from people wanting me to play here and there. I love getting the mail so keep it coming. When it comes to me playing for you - I would really like to. As a matter of fact I'd love to but in the case of the email exiting a computer outside Sweden - I can't afford to go. When it comes to email exiting computers from Sweden - I can only say - Talk to venues and tell them you want to see me play. I have been out there. They know I exist but the question is - Do they know in what way? There has been a whole lot of crap circulating about and all I can say is that HOPEFULLY in the end the right people will realize where the garbage is coming from. Slander. Bullies. Lost ten kilos... I can't get into detail. I'm trying to take days as they come now - Doctors orders... Live for the moment...

I would really, really like to play for you. Would love to play for you in Sweden too - If you'll have me???

Apart from it all - I'm working on a download-and-print-it-yourself CD. For you 'cause I like you listening to me. In my mind at the moment is a stripped down, still electric but also acoustic and organic CD. Songs that I will be able to perform with or without backtracks. There might be a total of seven songs - Six new and one in a different approach. I'll have to wait and see if the final result becomes just that... The idea is kind of a mini album.

Confessions for today:
  • I want a Fender Mustang - The one I fell in love with in New York 10 years ago (se picture for similar guitar).
  • I think Ida Maria has a lovely voice in that Peugeot commercial - I fell for a commercial (...).
  • I'm recording a cover of an OLD David & the Citizens song...
  • I love David (hey - what's new... duh... I suck).


Take care,
Sara

Mustang